Carriage factory Darr & Axthelm

Carriage "Phaeton" Darr & Axthelm

Carriage “Phaeton” Darr & Axthelm

The Darr & Axthelm company was founded as a vehicle construction company on April 5, 1869 in Eisenach Germany.
Since its ten-year existence, the company has developed from the smallest beginnings into a very efficient factory. Especially for better car construction, the products are gaining more and more recognition at home and abroad.
A carriage built in 1892 is preserved in the Auerstedt Carriage Museum (Thuringia). The Mecklenburg Carriage Museum in Kobrow houses a landaulet from around 1890 by D. & A.

Paul Axthelm separated from Darr around 1897 and founded a new company in Weimar.

Darr & Axthelm LogoIn 1907, Darr in Eisenach had got into economic difficulties, so machines began to be sold out.
In 1908 Darr committed suicide (the “Centralblatt der Wagenbauer” reported that the carriage maker Darr from the Darr & Axthelm company had disappeared without a trace. Darr, “whose company is world-famous”, had committed suicide).
In 1909 all workers are laid off and the company is closed.
The company Darr & Axthelm, Eisenach, Nonnengasse 3, is mentioned in the address book for the last time in 1909. It was obviously taken over by the carriage builder Christian Klein, who lived in 1910 with the widow Darr in Nonnengasse 3 – the company existed until the 1930s.

Axthelm continued the business

Carriage "Mylord" Darr & Axthelm

Carriage “Mylord” Darr & Axthelm

In contrast, the Axthelm company in Weimar developed very well. In the “Centralblatt der Wagenbauer” we find in 1907: “The Grand Duke has given the carriage manufacturer Paul Axthelm-Weimar permission to accept and use the title “Fürstlich Schwarzburg-Rudolstädtischer” purveyor to the court awarded to him by the Prince of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt. Paul Axthelm started also with carriages, then moved to automobile bodies.

(Source: http://www.tradition-fahrkunst.de/wbprintfriend.php?wbl=)


Continue reading the next family story.


This Website has been translated with Google Translate. Help us improve the quality of this content by reporting mistakes via E-mail to seb.axthelm[at]googlemail[dot]com

Hof-Wagenfabrik Darr & Axthelm

Hofwagen "Phaeton" Darr & Axthelm

Hofwagen „Phaeton“ Darr & Axthelm

Die Firma Darr & Axthelm wurde als Wagenbauunternehmen am 5. April 1869 in Eisenach gegründet (Adresse: Ackerhof 45).
Diese Firma hat sich seit ihrem zehnjährigen Bestehen aus kleinsten Anfängen zu einer sehr leistungsfähigen Fabrik entwickelt, weil sie gerade für besseren Wagenbau bekannt wurde. Deren Fabrikate finden im Inland und im Ausland immer mehr Anerkennung.
Ein 1892 gebauter Wagen ist im Kutschenmuseum Auerstedt (Thüringen) erhalten. Das Mecklenburgische Kutschenmuseum in Kobrow beherbergt einen Landaulet um 1890 von D. & A.

Axthelm hatte sich um 1897 von Darr getrennt und in Weimar eine neue Firma gegründet.

Darr & Axthelm Logo1907 beginnt der Ausverkauf von Maschinen bei Darr in Eisenach, der in wirtschaftliche Schwierigkeiten geraten ist.
1908 begeht Darr Selbstmord (das Centralblatt der Wagenbauer meldete, der Hofwagenbauer Darr von Firma Darr und Axthelm sei spurlos verschwunden. Darr, „dessen Firma Weltruf besitzt“, hatte Selbstmord begangen).
1909 werden alle Arbeiter entlassen und die Firma aufgelöst.
Die Firma Darr & Axthelm, Eisenach, Nonnengasse 3, wird im Adressbuch letztmalig 1909 erwähnt. Sie wurde offensichtlich vom Wagenbauer Christian Klein übernommen, der 1910 zusammen mit der Witwe Darr in Nonnengasse 3 wohnt und bis in die 30er Jahre besteht.

Axthelm führte das Geschäft weiter

Hofwagen "Mylord" Darr & Axthelm

Hofwagen „Mylord“ Darr & Axthelm

Dagegen entwickelte sich die Firma für Axthelm in Weimar sehr gut. Im Centralblatt der Wagenbauer finden wir 1907: „Der Großherzog hat dem Hofwagenfabrikanten Paul Axthelm-Weimar die Erlaubnis zur Annahme und Führung des ihm von dem Fürsten zu Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt verliehenen Titels „Fürstlich Schwarzburg-Rudolstädtischer Hoflieferant“ erteilt.

(Quelle: http://www.tradition-fahrkunst.de/wbprintfriend.php?wbl=)


Hier geht es zur nächsten Familiengeschichte