Pastor Axthelm and the pulpit in Eckartsberga

Source: http://www.pfarreebg.de/willkommen-in-den-kirchengemeinden/eckartsberga-seena/, by Pastor Bettina Plötner-Walter

Heinz Axthelm

Pastor Heinz Axthelm 1935

“Some of the elderly will probably remember that Pastor Axthelm worked in Eckartsberga and the surrounding area during the war and post-war period. Now it happened recently that distant relatives of Pastor Axthelm contacted me to visit the pulpit, which is also connected to a distant Axthelm ancestor who was a pastor in Oschersleben in the 17th century. So I got a short extract from the life memories of our Pastor Axthelm, in which he reports about our pulpit.

Background information about the pulpit in Eckartsberga

pulpit in Eckartsberga

pulpit in Eckartsberga © Parish area Eckartsberga and surroundings

When he took up his position in Eckartsberga in mid-1939, he immediately noticed the pulpit. On closer inspection, he discovered the year of construction 1670 and the fact that the pulpit originally comes from Oschersleben. Both of these can be seen today without any problems when you visit the pulpit.

But he knew from his own family history that around 1670 his ancestor Sixtus Axthelm was cathedral vicar and builder at the St. Nicolai church in Oschersleben (cathedral vicar is a clergyman assigned to the main church there – if I understand that correctly, the name cathedral vicar in this case comes from the fact that Oschersleben was affiliated with the Halberstadt monastery, so the pastor of Oschersleben was legally assigned to the Halberstadt cathedral chapter).

Pastor Axthelm therefore suspected that his ancestor must have stood and preached at least in this pulpit, if not involved in the construction or design of the pulpit. The pulpit later landed in the attic of the Oschersleben superintendent – presumably it had gotten there during the neo-Gothic church renovation of the Oschersleben Nikolai church.

After the fire in our church, the local parish started a question about new church interiors. The pulpit in Oschersleben, which is probably more valuable than the one that is now in the St. Nikolai church in Oschersleben, has come to Eckartsberga and has been restored.

Coat of arms on the pulpit?

When the Axthelm relatives mentioned above visited our church and pulpit, they looked for an Axthelm coat of arms. As far as they knew, the coat of arms was adorned with a helmet with an ax on top. This description could apply to one of the coats of arms at the pulpit, with a little imagination.

Further memories of Pastor Heinz Axthelm

Pastor Axthelm has probably left us in Eckartsberga the text of our popular Eckartsburg song “Wide valley at my feet” – at least it has been reported to me on various occasions. His name has also been mentioned to me several times – during the war and especially after the war, he probably achieved a lot in and around Eckartsberga, e.g. also the retrieval of the Lißdorfer bell from the “bell cemetery” in Hamburg.”

© Parish area Eckartsberga and surroundings
Link: http://www.pfarreebg.de/willkommen-in-den-kirchengemeinden/eckartsberga-seena/


This Website has been translated with Google Translate. Help us improve the quality of this content by reporting mistakes via E-mail to seb.axthelm[at]googlemail[dot]com

Pfarrer Axthelm und die Kanzel in Eckartsberga

Quelle: http://www.pfarreebg.de/willkommen-in-den-kirchengemeinden/eckartsberga-seena/, von Pfarrerin Bettina Plötner-Walter

Heinz Axthelm

Pfarrer Heinz Axthelm 1935

„Manche der Älteren werden sich vermutlich daran erinnern, dass in der Kriegs- und Nachkriegszeit Pfarrer Axthelm in Eckartsberga und Umgebung tätig war. Nun traf es sich neulich, dass entfernte Verwandte von Pfr. Axthelm mit mir Kontakt aufnahmen, um mal die hiesige Kanzel zu besichtigen, die überdies mit einem fernen Axthelm-Vorfahren in Verbindung steht, der im 17. Jahrhundert Pfarrer in Oschersleben war. So geriet ich an einen kurzen Ausschnitt aus den Lebenserinnerungen unseres Pfr. Axthelm, in dem er über unsere Kanzel berichtet.

Hintergründe zur Kanzel in Eckartsberga

Kanzel in Eckartsberga

Kanzel in Eckartsberga © Pfarrbereich Eckartsberga und Umgebung

Als er Mitte 1939 die Stelle in Eckartsberga antrat, fiel ihm die Kanzel natürlich sofort auf. Bei näherer Betrachtung entdeckte er anhand der Umschrift das Baujahr 1670 und die Tatsache, dass die Kanzel ursprünglich aus Oschersleben stammt. Beides kann man ja auch heutzutage problemlos bei Besichtigung der Kanzel feststellen.

Er wusste aber aus seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte, dass um 1670 sein Vorfahr Sixtus Axthelm eben in Oschersleben ‚Domvicar und Baumeister’ an der St. Nicolaikirche war (also ein der dortigen Hauptkirche  zugeordneter Geistlicher – wenn ich das recht verstehe, kommt der Name Domvikar in diesem Fall daher, dass Oschersleben dem Hochstift Halberstadt angegliedert war, deshalb war der Oscherslebener Pfarrer rechtlich dem Domkapitel Halberstadt zugeordnet).

Pfr. Axthelm vermutete also, dass sein Vorfahr zumindest auf dieser Kanzel gestanden und gepredigt haben muss, wenn nicht sogar am Bau bzw. Entwurf derselben beteiligt war. Später landete die Kanzel auf dem Dachboden der Oscherslebener Superintendentur – vermutlich war sie beim neugotischen Kirchenumbau der Oscherslebener Nikolaikirche dorthin gelangt.

Nach dem Brand unserer Kirche hatte die hiesige Kirchengemeinde eine Rundfrage nach neuem Kircheninterieur gestartet. So ist die Oscherslebener Kanzel, die vermutlich wertvoller ist als die, die sich jetzt in der St. Nikolaikirche zu Oschersleben befindet, nach Eckartsberga gekommen und restauriert worden.

Wappen auf der Kanzel?

Als nun die obenerwähnten Axthelm-Verwandten unsere Kirche und Kanzel besichtigten, suchten sie, ob vielleicht ein Axthelm’sches Wappen daran zu finden sei. Nach deren Kenntnis war das Wappen damals mit einem Helm mit einer Axt obenauf geziert. Auf eines der Wappen am Kanzelaufgang könnte – mit etwas Phantasie – diese Beschreibung zutreffen.

Weitere Erinnerungen an Pfarrer Heinz Axthelm

Pfarrer Axthelm hat uns in Eckartsberga wohl auch noch den Text unseres gern gesungenen Eckartsburgliedes hinterlassen „Weites Tal zu meinen Füßen“ – jedenfalls ist es mir verschiedentlich so berichtet worden. Auch sonst ist mir manches Mal sein Name genannt worden – er hat wohl in der Kriegs- und vor allem Nachkriegszeit einiges in und um Eckartsberga bewirkt, z.B. auch die Rückholung der Lißdorfer Glocke vom „Glockenfriedhof“ in Hamburg.“

© Pfarrbereich Eckartsberga und Umgebung
Link: http://www.pfarreebg.de/willkommen-in-den-kirchengemeinden/eckartsberga-seena/